IT service continuity management – 5 key factors for disaster preparation

Service continuity management, together with IT security is something that is right at the top of the priority list for IT today in the wake of COVID-19. If you do not have the right methods in place for service continuity management, it could actually take your business to the ground and you would regret that you did not have the right contingencies in place, to begin with.

In order to keep the interests of your stakeholders safe, keep your business reputation intact, and your value-creating processes you need to have business resilience and a good, effective response in the time of a disaster like this one.

Obviously, you would now think that the IT team of any company would naturally have thought about this and would be having this under control right? But in reality a lot of the time an IT department focuses on attending to daily emergencies in the business.

Then what are the important aspects that any IT organisation should be thinking of preparing? ITIL 4’s service continuity management guidance lays out the approach:

  • What are central services that you need to keep maintaining and pay attention to? In hospitality, for example, this could be the ability to charge customers and be paid.
  • What kind of continuity plan have you devises for different scenarios such as network outages, natural disasters, and the likes? If employees can’t access IT in the workplace, what will happen then?
  • What are the core or vital functions you require and where is the infrastructure for this? Do you need a secondary help desk for distributing calls to service desks in other locations?
  • Do you have elasticity if there is an anomaly in demand? For instance, having cloud-based services gives you the ability to scale when demand increases. This flexibility is really important.
  • Have you devised a service continuity plan and when was the last time you tested to see if it works?

Study365 now brings you a range of programmes that are accredited which you can use to ensure that your IT service continuity management is spot on.

ITIL® 4 Foundation Official Exam

ITIL 4 Foundation Official Exam

This ITIL® 4 foundation certification exam involves certain practices which tend to give the business the strength which they need to transform themselves. Some new and emerging practices are used in this certification, such as Lean, Agile, and DevOps, and will evolve into providing a total digital transformation in the organisation. This exam will help you to understand how IT interacts with the wider business strategy of the organisation.

The ITIL® 4 Foundation Certification exam will give a basic knowledge of the ITIL concepts to the learners, the terminology which is to be used will be introduced and the structure of the course will be outlined in an effective manner as well. This will be an entry-level exam that will help the learners to obtain a certain level of skills that will be needed in order to work in the area of service management in organisations. By completing this exam in a successful manner, learners will identify how to embrace new trends and practices in the workplace in a successful manner.

N.B. We do not provide the course. only the official exam is included in this program

ITIL® Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Official Exam

Here is the opportunity for you to take the official exam in ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI) to enhance your qualifications. This exam mainly assesses your knowledge in service management, service lifecycle, CSI processes, roles and responsibilities of CSI, technology and implementation requirements of CSI, and the risks and success factors related to CSI.

This exam certificate will impress potential employers and make way for various opportunities in the IT industry. This official exam certificate is internationally recognised and is accredited to a training organisation. After taking this exam in service offerings and agreements, you can go on to take the proceeding exams in ITIL to add up to your qualifications.

Once you successfully complete ITIL Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement you will be qualified to work in the following positions. The ITIL Intermediate: Continual Service Improvement qualification will also put you in line to demand a higher salary or job promotion. The average UK salary per annum according to is given below.

  • IT Operations Manager – (£45,428 – per annum)
  • IT Security Manager – (£50,473 – per annum)
  • Business Continuity Manager – (£45,959 – per annum)
  • Release Manager – (£39,663 – per annum)
  • Service Portfolio Manager – (£55,043 – per annum)
  • IT Security Architect – (£57,618 – per annum)
  • Availability Manager
  • Capacity Manager
  • Supplier Relationship Manager

Interested? For more information contact our team on [email protected]

September 1, 2023

0 responses on "IT service continuity management – 5 key factors for disaster preparation"

Leave a Message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat